What I Learned at the STLFW Midwest Fashion Conference

Hey dolls!

STLFW has been over for a couple weeks now but I can’t seem to get the Midwest Fashion Conference out of my head. While the runway shows were phenomenal and the blogger events were simply spectacular, this fashion conference was on a whole different level of information sharing and learning!

What I enjoyed most was the ability to actually have the time to speak to some of the presenters and get their perspective on St. Louis’s emerging fashion community. I think it’s safe to say that everyone who attended got something out of it and we all left with the hope that this helps to grow fashion in St. Louis.

So as I was sitting in the back row (that’s what running late get you lol) and in the different breakout sessions, I learned a thing or two about my blog and just fashion in general.

Morning panel at the Midwest Fashion Conference  Picture courtesy of Adrian Walker for ALIVE Magazine

Morning panel at the Midwest Fashion Conference
Picture courtesy of Adrian Walker for ALIVE Magazine

  1. Spend money and keep talent here.

These are just some of the ways that the St. Louis fashion community can continue to grow. Everyone wants to shop at Neiman’s and Sacks in NY but it really doesn’t make sense to do that when we have both like 20 minutes away. Sometimes you gotta spend a little money to make money to create a real community. Another suggestion the panel touched was making sure we’re creating quality opportunities so that we can keep.our.talent. It seems like we lose all the jewels to the big cities and while it can be great career launching points for some, it’s apparent we need to work to make St. Louis the place to grow and make it big!

  1. Be true to yourself

This was very clear in the “The Art of Storytelling” breakout session. Styling is all about taking a trend and telling your story. If I can go a bit cliché here, “make the trends, don’t let the trends make you.” Lol While it may seem silly it’s so true! Your blog should be your passion project and whoever you are should reflect in everything you do! Create a seamless story and never lose sight of yourself just to fit in with the crowd!

  1. Go local!

Everyone wants to work with the big name brands but sometimes it’s best to start off local to help gain attention. Not to mention, working with local boutiques and businesses can help to build solid relationships and support your community. I for one am all for that!

  1. Get a good lawyer.

While I may have gotten lost in some of the legal jargon, one thing I definitely got from the last session on “The Business of Fashion” is that a good fashion lawyer (or one that knows fashion) can save you a lot of time and money spent on Aleve! Seriously, when you start talking about trademarks, copyrights and whether you should become an LLC vs sole proprietorship, it can get a bit daunting. If you have the money to invest in one do it because there’s nothing like having a lawyer on speed dial when someone wants to try it. Lol

  1. Be nice!

If you’ve read any of the conference recaps on some of the local STL bloggers pages, I’m sure this one was on everyone’s list! Fern knew she was saying a mouthful when she touched on this because I think it’s a courtesy that many forget. We’ve all ran into those that are a little less than friendly and I’m sure they left a sour taste in your mouth. This is why it’s so important to be nice and to actually make friends while being as sincere and passionate as possible!

Y'all see me up there blurred out lol but I love Tania! She was speaking the truth!  Picture courtesy of Adrian Walker for ALIVE Magazine

Y’all see me up there blurred out lol but I love Tania! She was speaking the truth!
Picture courtesy of Adrian Walker for ALIVE Magazine

So there you have it, my top five things I learned at the Midwest Fashion Conference! I really hope this is a staple for STLFW because there were just so many “ah-ha” moments happening that day!! Oh I also got to get a quick pic in with Adrian who has become quite the photographer sensation! lol This may be the only pic I have captured by him but at least I can say I got one in! LOL!

Picture courtesy of Adrian Walker |www.adrianowalker.com

Picture courtesy of Adrian Walker |www.adrianowalker.com

Have a great day everyone!

xoxo

B logo

Leave a Reply

